From former TFA-er: TFA didn’t prepare me for troubled kids

From former TFA-er: TFA didn’t prepare me for troubled kids

From the article: 

Summer institute is supposed to prepare you to work with high-poverty children in an urban setting or high-poverty children in a rural setting… and in no way did it prepare me and I don’t think it prepared many of my colleagues… It was mostly a highly structured psychological booster…. Coming into South Bronx was an absolute culture shock for me… Every day I went in and came home feeling like an absolute failure. I had one parent start a fight two other children in my classroom… I had children who had post traumatic stress disorder from seeing parents shot or seeing parents have strokes, and the child had to be the one to call the ambulance… Having to deal with this coming from a comfortable middle-class suburban upbringing.. was a complete disconnect and I didn’t really know how to deal with it and what to do for the kids. The things that Teach For America gives…  to help you don’t help you…. They are not realistic.

Leave a Reply

