Mother’s Day shooting at New Orleans parade draws fearful reaction from students

Mother’s Day shooting at New Orleans parade draws fearful reaction from students

From the article:

But the children seemed not to have so many answers themselves. They focused on the fear they face Mother’s Day, and everyday.

“I’m scared to walk around the block. Because I seen my uncle get shot,” said Charley, a sixth grader who helped emcee the gathering.

“I’m scared to walk around with my brother” who’d been shot, said fifth-grader Dashawn. When that shooting happened, he watched his brother “laying on the ground and he couldn’t breathe at all … . He couldn’t feel the bones in his body,” Dashawn said. “It was just painful to me.”

“I feel scared about going to sleep. I feel like someone’s going to come in my room and kill me,” said Stefan, a fifth grader.

Don, a sixth-grade student, shared a nightmare he had Sunday: He was walking home from school at night when men approached him and one said, “You by yourself. You don’t got no help.” Shots were fired. He ran.

Another of the meeting’s student organizers, Ysabella Wilson read from her poem: “I’m so cold, this stuff is so old.”

Leave a Reply

